As a thank you to J for helping me move, I made him a key-lime pie.

The picture quality sucks, as I really need to invest in a digital camera. The cell phone just ain’t cutting it. Also, I need to purchase some pretty serving dishes.

key lime pie

Key Lime Pie

Crust:

  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 sugar

Combine all ingredients, and press into bottom of a pie pan. I really like a nice thick crust though, I think I will double this next time so it can come up higher around the edges. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 350 for 10 minutes. Allow to cool.

Pie filling

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 2 14 oz. cans sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup key lime juice (if you can’t find key lime, regular limes will do)
  • zest from squeezed limes

Mix all ingredients together thoroughly, and pour into cooled graham crust. Bake at 375 for 25 – 30 minutes.  Then, let chill in refrigerator for 2 hours before serving.

If you can’t find key-limes, regular limes will suffice. I really recommended using fresh lime juice (yes, hand squeezed, it really makes for a fresher, less bitter flavour). However, this time around at the grocery store the limes were REALLY small, so I ended up using 1/2 cup fresh lime juice, and 1/2 cup bottled lime juice.

Pie can be garnished with meringue or whipped cream. I like to slice limes thinly and decorate the top.

