I’m really starting to wonder what the heck is wrong with civilization these days.

Case-in-point:

I have recently returned to relying on public transit (aka “the bus”) since my lovely 1992 Mercury Showpaz finally bit the dust about a month ago.  Anyway, the place where I work is not in the most affluent part of town, the area is primarily populated with various minorities, as well as low-income inhabitants.  Not a big deal.  For the most part, it’s normal people going about their normal day-to-day business.  But, every now and then, there tends to be a lot of interesting things that happen in this area.

For example, back in 2003, a 19 year old boy was believed by this parents to be posessed by demons, and performed an exorcism, which included him being restrained with men’s ties to a metal chair in the family apartment for seven days, which resulted in him dying of dehydration.

Anyhow, back to today’s case in point. I get on the bus after work, and there is this young couple at the back of the bus, having some kind of discussion, which progressively became more heated.   Said discussion ended up turning into a full-fledged shriekfest full of insults and obscenities and I was about to turn around and ask them to “Kindly please, would you mind shutting the fuck up?” when I finally caught on to what the fight was about.  The girl was screaming at the guy because he did not come and bail her out of jail on Friday apparently.  So, in fear of getting my lily white ass knocked the fuck out by this convict, I turned myself around and grit my teeth, and kindly shutted the fuck up.

So.  End of journey, right?  Oh no.  We get to the next stop.  An older man gets on.  I’m four seats behind him, and I all I can smell is booze…fresh and stale.  He’s so inebriated he can’t even get his jacket on properly.  It’s all twisted up in his back, and he can’t seem to figure it out.  Oh yeah, I nearly forgot…his pants were falling down too.

Finally, couple of the year got off the bus, and stinky half dressed alkie man follows, and I’m left to suffocate only through the stench of man who jumps in a barrel of Axe body spray and dippity do hair gel.

I don’t know if I’m just becoming more stuck up, or what, but are there really any normal people left out there?  Seriously?

