I had company coming for dinner, and I was craving some pasta. I didn’t want just regular run of the mill boring pasta and sauce though, but I wanted a quick classic. I stumbled upon this fantastic little find at my favourite pantry store, Jill’s Table.

Oggi Pasta Sauce Base in Napoletana flavour.

Oggi Pasta Sauce Base in Napoletana flavour.

I assembled all my ingredients together:

Oggi Pasta Sauce Base, Pastene tomatoes, Rustichella D'Abruzzo "fusillotti" style noodles, generic grocery store extra virgin olive oil.

Oggi Pasta Sauce Base, tomatoes, noodles, olive oil

Using good ingredients is key.  The tomatoes and pasta noodles are imported direct from Italy. Any good kitchen pantry specialty store should be able to help you with this.  I will be honest, I was a bit skeptical with these noodles – rustichella d’abruzzo brand fusillotti noodles.  They were $6.99 for a 500g bag.  I was like, it’s flour and water – how much a difference can it make?  I was amazed.  The noodles were perfection.  I don’t know if I can go back to my 99 cent grocery store specials again.

Now, on to the Oggi.  First, you need to empty the entire contents of the jar into a sautée pan, and sautée for about 3 – 4 minutes to get the flavour going.

Oggi Base sautéeing in pan

Oggi Base sautéeing in pan

Next, add one 28 oz. can of quality, plum tomatoes. I used Pastene tomatoes.

Add a 28oz. of quality plum tomatoes.

Add a 28oz. of quality plum tomatoes.

I also threw in a handful of sliced cremini mushrooms, just to deepen the flavour a bit more.

Cremini Mushrooms

Cremini Mushrooms

I let the sauce simmer for 30 minutes or so..this is what resulted:

Simmery Goodness.

Simmery Goodness.

Now, I am a dumb ass, and was so excited to eat, that I forgot to take a picture of the finished meal, plated up, and all pretty like.  I splurged on some really nice noodles – made a world of difference.  I can’t recommend this Oggi Pasta Sauce Base enough.  It was delicious, and fresh tasting.  My dinner guests were raving over it.

I am looking forward to trying one of Oggi’s other flavoured bases, perhaps the mushroom themed one.  Next time I will take a picture of the finished product.

In the meantime, if you see this – buy it, and give it a try!  I will be definitely purchasing this again.

