So, this is not what I originally had intended to post – I have half a post started justifying why this year’s US Federal Election meant more to me, than my own country’s federal election.  I was getting really detailed, and then, I realized…who am I writing this for?  Why do I feel the need to validate my beliefs and opinions? 

Let me give you a bit of back-story what has prompted all of this, aside from a lethal dose of the “PMS”.  

Yesterday, it started innocently enough, with me utilizing an application on Facebook, to donate my status to encourage people to vote for Barack Obama in the US Election.  Apparently this was a problem for several of my “friends” on my “friends list”.  I was apparently unpatriotic for this action.  You see, we had our Canadian Federal election in Mid-October of this year.  We had the lowest voter turn out in history, at 40%.  For the record, I did not vote this year.  For the first time in the 12 years I have been eligible to vote, it’s the first time I did not.  

Perhaps the problem isn’t the voters.  Perhaps the problem lies with our electoral system.  Perhaps it’s the fact an election is announced six weeks before it actually takes place?  How am I supposed to get a good feel for each of the candidates running?  I can’t.  It’s a joke.  Give me a leader that motivates me, and gives me hope to the future, and perhaps, maybe, then I will care about my own country’s federal election.

I could go on and on here, but I think I am done on this topic for now.  It’s just going to piss me off , and I’m trying not to be negative, but instead, focus on the positives.  And with that, I leave you with this.

Congratulations America.  You’ve come a long way, baby.

