I know, I know, it’s not really meatloaf season, but the paper I have this recipe scrawled on is about to disintegrate, so I thought I’d post it online so I don’t loose it.   I prefer to make this in the oven, but a lady I know will make it in the microwave – she microwaves it for 11 minutes, adds ketchup on top and microwaves for another 11 on high.  Me, I’ll preheat my stove and do it the old fashioned way.  I have this aversion to microwaved meats, I don’t even like thawing meat that way.  I like my microwave for reheating coffee and yesterday’s chinese take-out.  Well, without much further ado…the meatloaf:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 cup minute rice
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 saltine crackers, crushed
  • 1/2 c. ketcup
  • 2 tablespoons mustard
  • 2 tablespoons bbq sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon parsley flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon italian herb seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 small onion cut into fine pieces
  • pinch of salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix all together in a bowl, put into loaf pan and bake one hour.  Serve.  I like this with garlic mashed potatoes and carrots in a brown sugar butter glaze.

