Today was the boyfriend’s birthday, so I thought I would take advantage of the occasion and the last long weekend of the summer and finally get around to making Beer Can Chicken.  I had always wanted to try it, and never had, so I was a bit scared, but…whatever.

beercanchicken 002

First off, turn on the barbecue to high and let preheat.

I used:

  • Fryer chicken
  • Can of my favourite beer
  • Store bought chicken rub (next time I’m making my own)

Rub the rub all over the naked chicken.  Stick can up chicken’s butt like so:

beercanchicken 003

Put onto grill, turn the side the chicken is on down to low, and keep the other side up around medium – high.  Let chicken cook until it’s done, about one to one and half hours.  Chicken is done when internal temperate reads 185°F (85°C) on a meat thermometer.  I found my chicken was browning really quickly, so I through some foil over it loosely while it cooked for the last half hour

The balsamic bbq sauce recipe I used is from here.

1 cup balsamic vinegar
3/4 cup ketchup
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Put all ingredients in small saucepan over med heat.  Bring to a boil, then simmer til mixture has reduced about 1/3 and thickens to desired consistency.  Baste over chicken during last half hour.

beercanchicken 005

Remove chicken when done and let rest 10 mins prior to serving.  Enjoy.

